Dr. Denis Forest – Prix Hommage 2017 of l’ODQ

Prix Hommage

prix-hommage-odqThe Prix Hommage of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec, awarded since 2007, recognizes the exceptional contribution by one of its members to the development of the profession, in keeping with the Order’s mandate to promote dental health and public protection. It is in the form of a blown glass sculpture evoking the different materials used in dentistry, including gold, porcelain and titanium, and symbolizing both the future and excellence .

 

Récipiendaire du prix Hommage 2017

Dr Denis Forest
Dr Denis Forest

Dr. Denis Forest: unflagging commitment to the profession and a major contribution to advancing knowledge in dentistry.

Dr. Forest holds a bachelor’s degree in biology-chemistry and a doctorate in dentistry, and was one of the first Quebec dentists to specialize in oral medicine. He taught at the Université de Montréal from 1965 to 2004 and is now a retired Emeritus Professor. Over the years he played a decisive role in transforming the Faculty of Dental Surgery into a Faculty of Dentistry.

Dr. Forest has collaborated on many books and numerous scientific papers. In particular, he co-authored a textbook on oral medicine that is still used in many francophone faculties of dentistry. He is an internationally renowned speaker, and contributed to expanding knowledge in dentistry as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal de l’Ordre des dentistes from 1985 to 2008.

Since 1996, he has been the Director of the Journées dentaires internationales du Québec (JDIQ). The event is one of the largest dental conventions in North America, attracting over 12,000 participants every year. His role in organizing the JDIQ earned him recognition as an Emeritus Ambassador of the Palais des congrès de Montréal.

During his career Dr. Forest has been honoured with the Ernest-Charron award from the Université de Montréal, the Samuel Charles Miller Lecture Award from the American Academy of Oral Medicine, the Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Dental Association, the Mérite award from the Québec Interprofessional Council and the silver medallion from the City of Paris. He received an honorary PhD in dentistry from Université Laval, and was also honoured at the 110th anniversary celebrations of the Université de Montréal Faculty of Dentistry, in 2014. In addition, he is a Fellow of the Académie dentaire du Québec, the International College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

The Prix Hommage, awarded since 2007, recognizes the exceptional contribution by an ODQ member to the development of the profession. As this year’s recipient, Dr. Forest received a piece of art evoking different materials used in dentistry, i.e. gold, porcelain and titanium, and symbolizing both the future and excellence.


source: Ordre des dentiste du Québec  autorized by Dr. Denis Forest.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dr. Denis Forest – Prix Hommage 2017 de l’ODQ

Prix Hommage

prix-hommage-odqRemis depuis 2007, le prix Hommage de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec vise à reconnaître l’apport exceptionnel d’un membre au développement de la profession, en lien avec le mandat de promotion de la santé bucco-dentaire et de protection du public de l’Ordre. Le récipiendaire du prix Hommage reçoit une œuvre d’art en verre soufflé qui évoque les différents matériaux utilisés en dentisterie, dont l’or, la porcelaine et le titane, et qui symbolise l’avenir et l’excellence.

 

Récipiendaire du prix Hommage 2017

Dr Denis Forest
Dr Denis Forest

Le Dr Denis Forest : un engagement soutenu envers la profession et une contribution importante à l’avancement des connaissances en médecine dentaire.

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie-chimie et d’un doctorat en médecine dentaire, le Dr Forest a été l’un des premiers dentistes québécois à détenir une spécialité en médecine buccale. Enseignant à l’Université de Montréal de 1965 à 2004 et professeur émérite retraité, il a joué un rôle déterminant dans la transformation de la Faculté de chirurgie dentaire en Faculté de médecine dentaire.

Le Dr Forest a collaboré à plusieurs livres et à de nombreux articles scientifiques. Il est notamment le coauteur d’un ouvrage de médecine buccale toujours utilisé dans plusieurs facultés de médecine dentaire francophones. Conférencier reconnu à l’échelle internationale, il a contribué à l’enrichissement des connaissances en médecine dentaire à titre de rédacteur en chef du Journal de l’Ordre des dentistes, fonction qu’il a exercée de 1985 à 2008.

Depuis 1996, il est le directeur des Journées dentaires internationales du Québec (JDIQ). Cet événement, qui attire chaque année au-delà de 12 000 participants, est l’un des plus importants congrès dentaires en Amérique du Nord. Sa contribution à l’organisation des JDIQ lui a valu d’être reconnu comme Ambassadeur émérite du Palais des congrès de Montréal.

Pendant sa carrière, le Dr Forest a reçu le prix Ernest-Charron de l’Université de Montréal, le prix Samuel Charles Miller de l’American Academy of Oral Medicine, la Distinction pour services émérites de l’Association dentaire canadienne, le prix Mérite du Conseil interprofessionnel du Québec et la médaille d’argent de la Ville de Paris. Docteur honoris causa en médecine dentaire de l’Université Laval, il a aussi été honoré lors du 110e anniversaire de la Faculté de médecine dentaire de l’Université de Montréal, en 2014. Il est par ailleurs Fellow de l’Académie dentaire du Québec, de l’International College of Dentists et de l’Académie Pierre Fauchard.

Remis depuis 2007, le prix Hommage vise à reconnaître l’apport exceptionnel d’un membre de l’Ordre au développement de la profession. À titre de récipiendaire, le Dr Forest a reçu une œuvre d’art qui évoque différents matériaux utilisés en dentisterie, soit l’or, la porcelaine et le titane, et qui symbolise l’avenir et l’excellence.


source: Ordre des dentiste du Québec  autorisé par Dr. Denis Forest.

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *